The Political Framework of Pakistan

Updated: Oct 18, 2021

By: Jordyn Roskind

Pakistan is a federal parliamentary republic, with a multi party system. The current President of Pakistan, Arif ALVI, has been in office since September 2018. Meanwhile, Pakistan’s Prime Minister, Imran KHAN, has held his position since August 2018. The next Presidential election will be in 2023. Since Pakistan is a multi party system, all of the parties work together to ensure that one party does not gain too much power.

These parties form a coalition government and command the National Assembly. Some of the major political parties in Pakistan today include Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians (PPPP), which is issued out of Pakistan People's Party, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), which is a centre left party, Jamiat Ulama-e-Islam (JUI-F), a far right party, and finally Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), which is a self-proclaimed liberal party. All of these political parties play vital roles in the Pakistani government.

The executive power consists of the President who is elected to a five year term by the electoral college which consists of the senate, the National Assembly, and other assemblies. The President is the chief of state and the commander in chief of armed forces. In the past, Presidents with backgrounds in the Army, have played especially important roles regarding politics in Pakistan. The Prime Minister serves as head of the government and is elected by the lower house, for a five year term, similar to the President. The cabinet is appointed by the President, with advice from the Prime Minister. In addition, the legislative branch is bicameral, which means it has two chambers. The Parliament, consisting of the senate, has 104 seats and the members are elected by provincial assemblies for six year terms. The National Assembly is the lower house, which has 342 seats and all of the members are elected by popular vote for a five year term. The President may be impeached or removed from office with votes from two thirds of the National Assembly. The Pakistani Constitution grants both the President and the Prime Minister the power to break down the National Assembly; however, the Prime Minister may not separate the Parliament.

Pakistan is a federal parliamentary republic, which includes a multi party system; this means that no one party can gain sole control of a branch of the government. These parties share power to ultimately create strong government leadership in Pakistan.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All